2015 Aerospace Leadership Scholarship Awardees

The Spaatz Association is proud to announce its 2015 Aerospace Leadership Scholarship winners.

Four scholarships were were presented at the 2015 Spaatz Association Mid Winter Dinner and Awards Gala on 28 February 2015.  Scholarships are intended to be used primarily to bring a cadet from solo to his/her private pilot’s license.  A limited amount of the scholarship may also be used to attend a CAP leadership activity, or to serve in a leadership position at a suitable CAP activity.

Name Unit Scholarship
C/2Lt Alec C. Albright Stratford Eagles Squadron, CT Wing Brigadier General Paul M. Bergman, CAP, Sponsored Scholarship
C/2Lt Eli D. Boothe Asheville Composite Squadron, NC Wing Colonel Douglas C. Roach, USAF, Named Scholarship
C/Maj Thomas S. French Skyhawks Composite Squadron 47, CA Wing General Carl A. Spaatz, USAF, Sponsored Scholarship
C/2Lt Paul A. Todd Hampton Roads Composite Squadron, VA Wing Colonel Louisa S. Morse, CAP, Endowed Scholarship

Endowed scholarships are named for a donor who has made a significant contribution to the Association. A scholarship endowment is designed to either fund a scholarship in perpetuity (as is the case with the Morse Endowment) or for an extended number of years (10+ years) by drawing down principal.  Sponsored scholarships are named for a donor who makes made a recurring, annual scholarship contribution (such as the General Carl A. Spaatz scholarship graciously donated each year since 2003 by Ms. Carla Spaatz-Thomas, and the and the Paul Bergman scholarships donated by Mr. Brian Campbell in 2012, 2013, and 2014).

Watch www.spaatz.org for updates on our winner’s progress toward their private tickets and more information on the 2016 Scholarship Season.  The 2016 scholarship application window will open on 1 August 2015.

About the author: Mike Hower

Profile photo of Mike Hower

You must be logged in to post a comment.