The Spaatz Association needs you

Did you earn the Spaatz Award or the Cadet Certificate of Proficiency? Do you want to give back to the organization that started you on your flight path to success? Are you willing to help grow the next generation of air, space, and cyberspace leaders? If so, then we need you...

Our Programs

We focus on cadet leadership development through aerospace education and training.
Flight Scholarships
The Spaatz Association awards $3,500 flight scholarships each year to deserving cadets who have:

earned the Mitchell Award
completed a solo in a powered aircraft, and
maintained a 3.0 GPA in high school.

Leadership Grants
In 2013, The Spaatz Association Leadership Grant Program was launched to recognize and encourage the development of leadership excellence through financial support.

Grants are available for individuals, units, and national-level special programs.

Academic (Post-Secondary) Scholarships
Every year the TSA gives out a minimum of one $1,000 scholarship to an deserving cadet for use in higher education.

Three types of membership.

Membership is open to any Spaatz Award or Cadet Certificate of Proficiency recipient.

Our Leadership

Officers of The Spaatz Association are elected for two-year terms.

JD Ellis


Janon D. “JD” Ellis, Spaatz #661, retired after 23 years of service in the U.S. Air Force where he earned the rating of master navigator. JD remains active in CAP and currently serves as the Mid-Atlantic Region Chief of Staff and the National Cadet Advisory Council Senior Advisor. He is currently employed as a USAF government civilian

Matt Chirik

Vice President

Matthew J. Chirik, Spaatz #2135, currently serves as the Spaatz Association Liaison to Civil Air Patrol National Headquarters and as Cadet Activities Officer for the Mid-Atlantic Region. Having joined CAP in 2011, he has served in various roles including Squadron Commander and as a Staff Officer/Director at the Group, Wing, and Region levels. Additionally, he has attended and served on staff at several national activities including Hawk Mountain Ranger School, National Blue Beret, and the National Character and Leadership Symposium at the U.S. Air Force Academy. Chirik is a permanent member of the Ranger and Medical Staff at Hawk Mountain Ranger School, having earned the grades of Advanced Ranger and Medic First Class. He is currently a rated Incident Commander and active in the CAP emergency services program. Chirik's service in the emergency services field extends beyond CAP into his professional life where he works full time as a Firefighter/EMT and Hazardous Materials Technician.

Jay Sliwinski

National Secretary

Jay Sliwinski, Spaatz #851, is a Public Safety Dispatcher for the Emergency Communications Center in Ramsey County, Minnesota. He is currently a Lt Col in Civil Air Patrol.

David Pattillo


David A. Pattillo, Spaatz #395, retired from the US Army after 20 years of service. He holds the Master Parachutist Badge with 100 military tactical jumps. He participated in Operations Urgent Fury (Grenada 1983) and Uphold Democracy (Haiti 1994). His second career was with the Department of Veterans Affairs where he retired as a senior healthcare administrator. He is a Fellow in the American Academy of Healthcare Executives and is active as a Board Member in several veteran and local organizations. He holds an undergraduate degree from The Citadel and graduate degrees in Healthcare Administration from Baylor University and strategic studies from the US Army Command and General Staff College.

Do you want to know more?